The religion in Crete

Religion plays a very important role in the lives of the Cretan people.The majority if not all are Greek othodox Cristians.They celebrate Easter,Christmas,the assumption of the blessed virgin as well as many other saints days all through the year.There are many churches and monasteries tha you can visit some are quite ancient and contain many rare icons and beautiful frescoes.

Saint Mina(Heraklion city)

Saint Minas was declared the patron saint of Heraklion during the ottoman period. His feast day is celebrated every year on 11th November.
The foundations for this magnificent church  (one of the largest in Greece) were laid on March 25th 1862 as a token of gratitude by the citizens of Heraklionfor the saints protection of their city. The site is said to have been indicated by a monk to whom St Minas had appeared in a vision.

The religion in Crete

Religion plays a very important role in the lives of the Cretan people.The majority if not all are Greek othodox Cristians.They celebrate Easter,Christmas,the assumption of the blessed virgin as well as many other saints days all through the year.There are many churches and monasteries tha you can visit some are quite ancient and contain many rare icons and beautiful frescoes.

Saint Mina(Heraklion city)

Saint Minas was declared the patron saint of Heraklion during the ottoman period. His feast day is celebrated every year on 11th November.
The foundations for this magnificent church  (one of the largest in Greece) were laid on March 25th 1862 as a token of gratitude by the citizens of Heraklionfor the saints protection of their city. The site is said to have been indicated by a monk to whom St Minas had appeared in a vision.

Panagia Kera(Lassithi)

One of the most beautiful churches in Crete a ‘must see’ for all visitors. The nunnery is situated on the road connecting the Provence of Pediados and Lassithi Plateau. The monastery is of high artistic and historical significance and is linked with the miraculous icon of Our Lady which is now kept in the church of San Alfonso in Rome. According to tradition the icon had been moved or stolen many times and each time miraculously returned on its own. The church is dedicated to the nativity of the virgin Mary.

Monastery of Arkadi(Rethimnon city)

During the revolution of 1821 Arkadi monastery played an important role in the liberation of Crete by the Turks bringing the holocaust of Arkadi in 8th of November 1866.

Monastery of Arkadi(Rethimnon city)

During the revolution of 1821 Arkadi monastery played an important role in the liberation of Crete by the Turks bringing the holocaust of Arkadi in 8th of November 1866.

Toplou(Sitia)

The monastery of Toplou is near Sitia on the eastern side of Crete. It is the only remaining example of monasteries that once stood in the Sitia region( other monasteries were eventually destroyed by war and pirate raids). It has been restored and renovated numerous times and is considered to be one of the most significant monasteries in Crete. It is well worth the visit which can be combined with a visit to Vai  just a few kilometers away.

Chrisoskalitissa(Chania)

The most famous monastery in chania situated a few Kilometers west of the beautiful beach of Elafonisi. It is built on a small hill in a beautiful bay with glorious sea views. This impressive building is considered to be an important monument of Crete. All these monasteries as well as many other smaller have survived through the turbulent history of Crete including numerous wars and conquests.

Chrisoskalitissa(Chania)

The most famous monastery in chania situated a few Kilometers west of the beautiful beach of Elafonisi. It is built on a small hill in a beautiful bay with glorious sea views. This impressive building is considered to be an important monument of Crete. All these monasteries as well as many other smaller have survived through the turbulent history of Crete including numerous wars and conquests.

  Saint George Selinari(Vraxasi Lassithiou)

This monastery is situated inside Selinari Gorge. It is worth a visit if only to admire the beautiful scenery and to taste the fresh water from the natural springs.
During the ottoman period the monastery came under attack many times and the damaged icon of st George shows evidence of this. There are legends which connect this icon to miracles related with the healing of sick people.

CONTACT

For any further information about our products or services, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us, filling the form below:

CONTACT

For any further information about our products or services, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us, filling the form below:

La religion en Crète

Religion La religion joue un rôle très important dans la vie de la population Crétoise. La plupart, ou presque tous sont des Orthodoxes Grecs Cristians. Ils fêtent Pâques, Noël, l’Assomption de la Vierge ainsi que plusieurs autres saints tout au long de l’année. Il y a beaucoup d’églises et de monastères que vous pouvez visiter dont certains sont très anciens et contiennent beaucoup de rares icônes et de fresques magnifiques.

Saint Minas (Ville d’Héraklion)

Saint Minas a été déclaré patron d’ Héraklion au cours de la période ottomane. Sa fête est célébrée chaque année le 11 novembre. Les bases de cette magnifique église (parmi les plus importantes en Grèce) ont été portées le 25 mars 1862 en guise de reconnaissance par les citoyens d’ Héraklion pour la protection de leur ville. On dit que le site est indiqué par un moine à qui St Minas était apparu dans une vision.

La religion en Crète

Religion La religion joue un rôle très important dans la vie de la population Crétoise. La plupart, ou presque tous sont des Orthodoxes Grecs Cristians. Ils fêtent Pâques, Noël, l’Assomption de la Vierge ainsi que plusieurs autres saints tout au long de l’année. Il y a beaucoup d’églises et de monastères que vous pouvez visiter dont certains sont très anciens et contiennent beaucoup de rares icônes et de fresques magnifiques.

Saint Minas (Ville d’Héraklion)

Saint Minas a été déclaré patron d’ Héraklion au cours de la période ottomane. Sa fête est célébrée chaque année le 11 novembre. Les bases de cette magnifique église (parmi les plus importantes en Grèce) ont été portées le 25 mars 1862 en guise de reconnaissance par les citoyens d’ Héraklion pour la protection de leur ville. On dit que le site est indiqué par un moine à qui St Minas était apparu dans une vision.

Panagia Kera(Lassithi)

Une des plus belles églises, en Crète, un «faut visiter» pour tous les visiteurs. Le couvent est situé sur la route reliant la Provence de Pediada et le Plateau de Lassithi. Le monastère est d’une grande valeur artistique et historique et est lié avec l’icône miraculeuse de Notre-Dame, qui est maintenant conservé dans l’église de San Alfonso, à Rome. Selon la tradition, l’icône a été déplacée ou volée plusieurs fois et chaque fois retournée miraculeusement à sa place. L’église est dédiée à la Nativité de la Vierge Marie.

Monastery of Arkadi(Rethimnon city)

Pendant la révolution de 1821 le monastère d’Arkadi a joué un rôle important dans la libération de la Crète par les Turcs, ce qui porte l’Holocauste d’Arkadi le 8 novembre 1866.

Monastery of Arkadi(Rethimnon city)

Pendant la révolution de 1821 le monastère d’Arkadi a joué un rôle important dans la libération de la Crète par les Turcs, ce qui porte l’Holocauste d’Arkadi le 8 novembre 1866.

Toplou(Sitia)

Le monastère de Toplou est près de Sitia, sur la côte orientale de la Crète. C’est le seul exemplaire restant de monastères, qui se trouvait dans la région de Sitia (autres monastères ont été finalement détruits par les pirates et la guerre). Il a été restauré et rénové plusieurs fois et est considéré comme l’un des plus importants monastères de Crète. Il vaut bien la visite qui peut être combinée avec une visite à Vai à quelques kilomètres de là.

Chrisoskalitissa(Chania)

Ce monastère est situé à l’intérieur de la Gorge de Selinari. Il vaut la visite juste pour admirer la beauté des paysages et pour goûter l’eau fraîche des sources naturelles. Au cours de la période ottomane, le monastère a été attaqué plusieurs fois et l’icône endommagée de Saint George le signale. Il y a des légendes qui relient cette icône à des miracles associés avec la guérison des malades.

Chrisoskalitissa(Chania)

Ce monastère est situé à l’intérieur de la Gorge de Selinari. Il vaut la visite juste pour admirer la beauté des paysages et pour goûter l’eau fraîche des sources naturelles. Au cours de la période ottomane, le monastère a été attaqué plusieurs fois et l’icône endommagée de Saint George le signale. Il y a des légendes qui relient cette icône à des miracles associés avec la guérison des malades.

  Saint George Selinari(Vraxasi Lassithiou)

Le plus célèbre monastère de la Canée, situé à quelques kilomètres à l’ouest de la belle plage d’Elafonissi. Il est construit sur une petite colline dans une baie splendide avec vue sur la mer magnifique. Cette imposante bâtisse est réputée comme un monument important de la Crète.

NOUS CONTACTER

Vous pouvez envoyer des questions, des suggestions, des compliments et les plaintes car il est une question importante pour nous afin que nous puissions continuer à améliorer nos services. Nous votre demande en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous ou en appelant nos numéros de bureau central:

NOUS CONTACTER

Vous pouvez envoyer des questions, des suggestions, des compliments et les plaintes car il est une question importante pour nous afin que nous puissions continuer à améliorer nos services. Nous votre demande en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous ou en appelant nos numéros de bureau central: