HERAKLION

Located almost in the center of Crete, Heraklion has since the early years played a significant part in the history of the island. It has worn different names during the years: Heraklion, Handakas, Candi and Heraklion again, officially in 1922. The city of today is modern and large commercial, industrial and agrarian, provincial center. As the largest communication center of Crete it is connected with our country’s largest cities and with several foreign cities.
Heraklion’s long-lasting history has contributed to the existence of a significant cultural and intellectual movement. The new quarters do not have anything special to present. They remind us mostly of large cities in other parts of Greece. Yet the part of the city surrounded by the famous Venetian walls has preserved many picturesque spots and monuments, standing as reliable witnesses of its history, Once you had to pass through the gates of the wall if you wished to enter the city. Today only two of the four gates are preserved: the Gate of Pantokrator (or the Chania Gate) on the west side and the Gate of lisous (the new gate) along the southern side of the wall. At the southernmost point of the peribolus is the Martinengo bastion, the highest point of the castle and furthermore impregnable. Here is also the grave of the famous Nikos Kazantzakis. On a stone plate you can read the inscription of a phrase stated by the author, “I hope nothing, I fear nothing, I am free”.

At the old town’s centre we meet the Square of Venizelos with the Venetian Morozini Fountain. The basilica of St. Mark, the Venetian Lotzia, beautiful fountains, old churches such as Agios Titos,the fortress, the Venetian shipyards and many more scattered monuments make our walk through the city.

A visit to Heraklion’s Archaeological Museum is a must. You can see one of the world’s most important collections with objects from Knossos, Phaistos, Gortyna, Arhanes and of other places on Crete. Nearby is the Historical Ethnographic Museum and ecclesiastical works of art. The local specialty of Heraklion is Hochli(snails) cooked in different ways. If you taste them without being to Id what it is, you will find them delicious. In Heraklion you can enjoy the traditional mezedes (appetizers) , baked potatoes , tasty cheeses and olives. The traditional Cretan sweets are “Kaltsounia” which you can find anywhere on the island. Don’t forget to visit the “mahairadika”, workshops where the famous Cretan knives are made by experienced hand crafters.

Near Heraklion you can swim at the organized beaches of Ammoudara, Linoperamata and Kartero. Here we also find the ruins Of the Minoan city of Amnisos and a villa with impressive frescos. In the same area the Cave of Eileithias is situated, which was the sanctuary of the goddess of fertility, in 1545, at the Picturesque village of Fodele Domenikos Theotokopoulos was born, more famous under the name of El Greco, one of the greatest painters Of the Renaissance period. Brilliant palaces and magnificent residences surrounded Heraklion during antiquity. The Minoan civilization flourished in Crete from 3000 to 1200 13C and was considered to be one of the most important in Greece. While it lasted, more than one hundred cities prospered and grew into significant centers of civilization. The Most well- known are Knossos, Phaistos, Malia, Gortys, Zakros and Arhanes. Most Of them were repeatedly destroyed by earthquakes and other natural phenomenon but each time they were rebuilt and were more magnificent than before. In the Minoan Civilization’s Golden Age (1700 -1450 BC) art evolved in this cities leaving us a significant cultural inheritance and Considerable unique findings. Knossos is Crete’s most significant archaeological site It was here that Arthur Evans” the English archaeologist discovered the ruins of the greatest and most luxurious Minoan palace.

HERAKLION

Located almost in the center of Crete, Heraklion has since the early years played a significant part in the history of the island. It has worn different names during the years: Heraklion, Handakas, Candi and Heraklion again, officially in 1922. The city of today is modern and large commercial, industrial and agrarian, provincial center. As the largest communication center of Crete it is connected with our country’s largest cities and with several foreign cities.
Heraklion’s long-lasting history has contributed to the existence of a significant cultural and intellectual movement. The new quarters do not have anything special to present. They remind us mostly of large cities in other parts of Greece. Yet the part of the city surrounded by the famous Venetian walls has preserved many picturesque spots and monuments, standing as reliable witnesses of its history, Once you had to pass through the gates of the wall if you wished to enter the city. Today only two of the four gates are preserved: the Gate of Pantokrator (or the Chania Gate) on the west side and the Gate of lisous (the new gate) along the southern side of the wall. At the southernmost point of the peribolus is the Martinengo bastion, the highest point of the castle and furthermore impregnable. Here is also the grave of the famous Nikos Kazantzakis. On a stone plate you can read the inscription of a phrase stated by the author, “I hope nothing, I fear nothing, I am free”.

At the old town’s centre we meet the Square of Venizelos with the Venetian Morozini Fountain. The basilica of St. Mark, the Venetian Lotzia, beautiful fountains, old churches such as Agios Titos,the fortress, the Venetian shipyards and many more scattered monuments make our walk through the city.

A visit to Heraklion’s Archaeological Museum is a must. You can see one of the world’s most important collections with objects from Knossos, Phaistos, Gortyna, Arhanes and of other places on Crete. Nearby is the Historical Ethnographic Museum and ecclesiastical works of art. The local specialty of Heraklion is Hochli(snails) cooked in different ways. If you taste them without being to Id what it is, you will find them delicious. In Heraklion you can enjoy the traditional mezedes (appetizers) , baked potatoes , tasty cheeses and olives. The traditional Cretan sweets are “Kaltsounia” which you can find anywhere on the island. Don’t forget to visit the “mahairadika”, workshops where the famous Cretan knives are made by experienced hand crafters.

Near Heraklion you can swim at the organized beaches of Ammoudara, Linoperamata and Kartero. Here we also find the ruins Of the Minoan city of Amnisos and a villa with impressive frescos. In the same area the Cave of Eileithias is situated, which was the sanctuary of the goddess of fertility, in 1545, at the Picturesque village of Fodele Domenikos Theotokopoulos was born, more famous under the name of El Greco, one of the greatest painters Of the Renaissance period. Brilliant palaces and magnificent residences surrounded Heraklion during antiquity. The Minoan civilization flourished in Crete from 3000 to 1200 13C and was considered to be one of the most important in Greece. While it lasted, more than one hundred cities prospered and grew into significant centers of civilization. The Most well- known are Knossos, Phaistos, Malia, Gortys, Zakros and Arhanes. Most Of them were repeatedly destroyed by earthquakes and other natural phenomenon but each time they were rebuilt and were more magnificent than before. In the Minoan Civilization’s Golden Age (1700 -1450 BC) art evolved in this cities leaving us a significant cultural inheritance and Considerable unique findings. Knossos is Crete’s most significant archaeological site It was here that Arthur Evans” the English archaeologist discovered the ruins of the greatest and most luxurious Minoan palace.

CONTACT

For any further information about our products or services, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us, filling the form below:

CONTACT

For any further information about our products or services, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us, filling the form below:

HÉRAKLION

Situé presque dans le centre de la Crète, Héraklion a toujours joué un rôle important dans l’histoire de l’île. Il a porté des différents noms au cours des années: Héraklion, Handakas, Candia et Héraklion encore une fois, officiellement en 1922. La ville d’aujourd’hui est moderne et avec un grand centre commercial, industriel et agraireprovincial. Comme le plus grand centre de communication de Crète, elle est reliée avec les plus grandes villes de notre pays et avec plusieurs villes étrangères.

Héraklion a une histoire de longue durée et a contribué à l’existence d’un important mouvement culturel et intellectuel. Les nouveaux quartiers n’ont rien de spécial à présenter. Ils nous rappellent les grandes villes dans d’autres parties de la Grèce. La partie de la ville, qui est entourée des célèbres remparts vénitiens a conservé de nombreux endroits pittoresques et monuments, comme des témoins fiables de son histoire. Si vous souhaitez entrer dans la ville vous devez passer par les portes des murs. Aujourd’hui, seulement deux des quatre portes sont conservées: la porte du Pantokrator (ou la porte de Chania) sur le côté ouest et la porte de lisous (la nouvelle porte) le long du côté sud du mur. À la pointe sud de la peribolus est le Martinengo, le point culminant du château et en outre inexpugnable. Il y a également la tombe du célèbre Nikos Kazantzakis. Sur une plaque en pierre vous pouvez lire l’inscription d’une phrase, énoncée par l’auteur, « je n’espère rien, je ne crains rien, je suis libre ».

Au centre de la vieille ville, nous rencontrons la Place de Venizelos, avec la fontaine vénitienne de Morozini. La Basilique de Saint-Marc, Lotzia, des vieilles églises telles que Agios Titos, la forteresse, les chantiers navals de vénitiens et de nombreux monuments plus dispersées font notre promenade à travers la ville, très intéressante.

Une visite au Musée Archéologique d’Héraklion est imposée. Vous pouvez voir une des collections les plus importantes du monde avec des objets de Knossos, Phaistos, Gortyna, Arhanes et d’autres endroits de la Crète. A proximité se trouve le Musée ethnographique avec des œuvres ecclésiastiques. La spécialité locale de Héraklion est Hochli (escargots) cuits de différentes manières. Si vous les goûtez, vous les trouverez délicieux. À Héraklion, vous apprécierez les mezedes traditionnels (hors d’oeuvres), les pommes de terre, les fromages savoureux et les olives. Les gâteaux traditionnels crétois sont les «Kaltsounia» que vous pouvez trouver n’importe où sur l’île. N’oubliez pas de visiter les «mahairadika», des ateliers où les fameux couteaux crétois sont fabriqués par des artisans de main expérimentée.

Près de Héraklion, vous pouvez nager aux plages organisées d’Ammoudara, Linoperamata et Karteros. Ici, on trouve aussi les ruines de la ville minoenne de Amnissos et une villa avec des fresques impressionnantes. Dans le même secteur est située la grotte de Eileithias, qui était le sanctuaire de la déesse de la fertilité. En 1545, dans le pittoresque village de Fodele, Domenikos Theotokopoulos est né, plus connu sous le nom de « El Greco », un peintre de la période de la Renaissance. Des palais brillants et des résidences magnifiques entouraient Héraklion pendant l’antiquité. La civilisation minoenne est fleurie en Crète du 3000 à 1200 et était considérée comme l’une des plus importantes en Grèce. Pendant la civilisation minoenne plus d’une centaine de villes ont prospéré et sont devenues des centres importants de la civilisation. Les plus connus sont Knossos, Phaistos, Malia, Zakros Gortys et Arhanes. La plupart d’entre eux ont été détruits à plusieurs reprises par des tremblements de terre et autres phénomènes naturels, mais chaque fois ont été reconstruites et étaient plus magnifiques qu’avant. L’art de l’âge d’or (1700-1450 BC)de la civilisation minoenne a évolué dans ces villes, nous laissant ainsi un héritage culturel important et des résultats uniques considérables. Knossos est le plus important site archéologique de Crète.

HÉRAKLION

Situé presque dans le centre de la Crète, Héraklion a toujours joué un rôle important dans l’histoire de l’île. Il a porté des différents noms au cours des années: Héraklion, Handakas, Candia et Héraklion encore une fois, officiellement en 1922. La ville d’aujourd’hui est moderne et avec un grand centre commercial, industriel et agraireprovincial. Comme le plus grand centre de communication de Crète, elle est reliée avec les plus grandes villes de notre pays et avec plusieurs villes étrangères.

Héraklion a une histoire de longue durée et a contribué à l’existence d’un important mouvement culturel et intellectuel. Les nouveaux quartiers n’ont rien de spécial à présenter. Ils nous rappellent les grandes villes dans d’autres parties de la Grèce. La partie de la ville, qui est entourée des célèbres remparts vénitiens a conservé de nombreux endroits pittoresques et monuments, comme des témoins fiables de son histoire. Si vous souhaitez entrer dans la ville vous devez passer par les portes des murs. Aujourd’hui, seulement deux des quatre portes sont conservées: la porte du Pantokrator (ou la porte de Chania) sur le côté ouest et la porte de lisous (la nouvelle porte) le long du côté sud du mur. À la pointe sud de la peribolus est le Martinengo, le point culminant du château et en outre inexpugnable. Il y a également la tombe du célèbre Nikos Kazantzakis. Sur une plaque en pierre vous pouvez lire l’inscription d’une phrase, énoncée par l’auteur, « je n’espère rien, je ne crains rien, je suis libre ».

Au centre de la vieille ville, nous rencontrons la Place de Venizelos, avec la fontaine vénitienne de Morozini. La Basilique de Saint-Marc, Lotzia, des vieilles églises telles que Agios Titos, la forteresse, les chantiers navals de vénitiens et de nombreux monuments plus dispersées font notre promenade à travers la ville, très intéressante.

Une visite au Musée Archéologique d’Héraklion est imposée. Vous pouvez voir une des collections les plus importantes du monde avec des objets de Knossos, Phaistos, Gortyna, Arhanes et d’autres endroits de la Crète. A proximité se trouve le Musée ethnographique avec des œuvres ecclésiastiques. La spécialité locale de Héraklion est Hochli (escargots) cuits de différentes manières. Si vous les goûtez, vous les trouverez délicieux. À Héraklion, vous apprécierez les mezedes traditionnels (hors d’oeuvres), les pommes de terre, les fromages savoureux et les olives. Les gâteaux traditionnels crétois sont les «Kaltsounia» que vous pouvez trouver n’importe où sur l’île. N’oubliez pas de visiter les «mahairadika», des ateliers où les fameux couteaux crétois sont fabriqués par des artisans de main expérimentée.

Près de Héraklion, vous pouvez nager aux plages organisées d’Ammoudara, Linoperamata et Karteros. Ici, on trouve aussi les ruines de la ville minoenne de Amnissos et une villa avec des fresques impressionnantes. Dans le même secteur est située la grotte de Eileithias, qui était le sanctuaire de la déesse de la fertilité. En 1545, dans le pittoresque village de Fodele, Domenikos Theotokopoulos est né, plus connu sous le nom de « El Greco », un peintre de la période de la Renaissance. Des palais brillants et des résidences magnifiques entouraient Héraklion pendant l’antiquité. La civilisation minoenne est fleurie en Crète du 3000 à 1200 et était considérée comme l’une des plus importantes en Grèce. Pendant la civilisation minoenne plus d’une centaine de villes ont prospéré et sont devenues des centres importants de la civilisation. Les plus connus sont Knossos, Phaistos, Malia, Zakros Gortys et Arhanes. La plupart d’entre eux ont été détruits à plusieurs reprises par des tremblements de terre et autres phénomènes naturels, mais chaque fois ont été reconstruites et étaient plus magnifiques qu’avant. L’art de l’âge d’or (1700-1450 BC)de la civilisation minoenne a évolué dans ces villes, nous laissant ainsi un héritage culturel important et des résultats uniques considérables. Knossos est le plus important site archéologique de Crète.

NOUS CONTACTER

Vous pouvez envoyer des questions, des suggestions, des compliments et les plaintes car il est une question importante pour nous afin que nous puissions continuer à améliorer nos services. Nous votre demande en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous ou en appelant nos numéros de bureau central:

NOUS CONTACTER

Vous pouvez envoyer des questions, des suggestions, des compliments et les plaintes car il est une question importante pour nous afin que nous puissions continuer à améliorer nos services. Nous votre demande en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous ou en appelant nos numéros de bureau central: