The Gorge of Improu (sfakia Chania)

This small but beautiful gorge is found in Sfakia and can be visited during all seasons. It is 8km long, takes around 2 hours to walk through and is visited by 50.000 people each year

The Gorge of Improu (sfakia Chania)

This small but beautiful gorge is found in Sfakia and can be visited during all seasons. It is 8km long, takes around 2 hours to walk through and is visited by 50.000 people each year

Samaria Gorge (Chania)

This is the largest gorge in Europe and has more than 300.000 visitors each year.An area of stunning natural beauty which is exceptionally rich in wild plant and animal life. The main species of wild animals in the gorge is the Kri Kri (capraaegarus cretica) . You can also admire the beautiful forest of huge cypress trees which in ancient times were used as timber for shipbuilding and particularly by the minoans to build the pillars for their palaces.It will take around 6-8 hours to walk through in order to admire this beautiful gorge.

Kroutaliotiko Gorge

This gorge has incredible aesthetic, biological and ecological value. Here you will encounter a large forest of  palm trees the second largest palm forest in Crete.The gorge has lots of rich vegetation and plants such as (Posidonia oceanica), which are among the most protected marine plants. It is also famous for its spectacular water falls and birds of prey. It takes around 3 hours to walk through and is well worth a visit.

Kroutaliotiko Gorge

This gorge has incredible aesthetic, biological and ecological value. Here you will encounter a large forest of  palm trees the second largest palm forest in Crete.The gorge has lots of rich vegetation and plants such as (Posidonia oceanica), which are among the most protected marine plants. It is also famous for its spectacular water falls and birds of prey. It takes around 3 hours to walk through and is well worth a visit.

Sarakina Gorge

Sarakina Gorge is located 20km west of Iearapetra and close to the traditional small village of Mirthi. The locals call the gorge Sarantapihos. According to legend Sarantapihos, a giant (son of Zeus) was walking past the mountain, he stopped to drink water from a river. As he bent down to drink the water his long beard slashed the mountain in two parts and created the canyon.The gorge rich in vegetation, birds and gurgling water takes around 1 hour to walk through and is ideal for children.

There are of course many more gorges in Crete. The above mentioned are the most famous and easy to reach. So wherever you are staying in Crete it is well worth the effort to visit one of these gorges. You won’t be disappointed !!!

CONTACT

For any further information about our products or services, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us, filling the form below:

CONTACT

For any further information about our products or services, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us, filling the form below:

La Gorge de Improu (Sfakia, la Canée)

Cette petite mais belle gorge se trouve à Sfakia et peut être visitée en toutes saisons. Elle est à 8km de long, ça dure environ 2 heures pour la traverser et est visitée chaque année par 50.000 personnes.

La Gorge de Improu (Sfakia, la Canée)

Cette petite mais belle gorge se trouve à Sfakia et peut être visitée en toutes saisons. Elle est à 8km de long, ça dure environ 2 heures pour la traverser et est visitée chaque année par 50.000 personnes.

Samaria Gorge (Chania)

C’est la gorge plus grande en Europe et compte plus de 300,000 visiteurs chaque année. Une région de beauté naturelle, qui est exceptionnellement riche en flore et faune. Les espèces principales d’animaux sauvages dans la gorge sont les Kri Kri (capraaegarus cretica). Vous pourrez également admirer la belle forêt de cyprès énormes qui, dans l’antiquité, ont été utilisés comme bois d’ œuvre pour la construction navale et plus particulièrement par les Minoens pour construire les piliers pour leurs palais. Il faudra environ 6 à 8 heures pour la traverser afin d’admirer cette belle gorge.

Kroutaliotiko Gorge

Cette gorge est d’une valeur esthétique incroyable, biologique et écologique. Ici, vous rencontrerez une grande forêt de palmiers, la deuxième plus grande forêt de palmiers dans les gorges de Crete. Il y a beaucoup de végétation riche et des plantes (comme Posidonia oceanica), qui sont parmi les plantes marines plus protégées. Elle est également célèbre pour ses chutes d’eau spectaculaires et des oiseaux de proie. Il faut environ 3 heures pour la traverser et vaut bien une visite.

Kroutaliotiko Gorge

Cette gorge est d’une valeur esthétique incroyable, biologique et écologique. Ici, vous rencontrerez une grande forêt de palmiers, la deuxième plus grande forêt de palmiers dans les gorges de Crete. Il y a beaucoup de végétation riche et des plantes (comme Posidonia oceanica), qui sont parmi les plantes marines plus protégées. Elle est également célèbre pour ses chutes d’eau spectaculaires et des oiseaux de proie. Il faut environ 3 heures pour la traverser et vaut bien une visite.

Gorge de Sarakina

La Gorge de Sarakina est située à 20km à l’ouest d’ Ierapetra et à proximité du
petit village traditionnel de Mirthi. Les habitants l’appellent la gorge Sarantapihos. Selon la légende Sarantapihos, un géant (fils de Zeus) était en passant devant la montagne, il s’arrêta pour boire de l’eau d’une rivière. Comme il a plié vers le bas pour boire l’eau sa longue barbe a divisé la montagne en deux parties et a créé le canyon. La gorge riche en végétation, les oiseaux et les gargouillis de l’eau prend environ 1 heure pour traverser et est idéale pour les enfants.

Il y a bien sûr de nombreuses gorges en Crète. Ci-dessus mentionnées sont les plus célèbres et les plus faciles d’accès. Donc, chaque fois que vous séjournez en Crète ça vaut la peine de visiter l’une de ces gorges. Vous n’en serez pas déçus!!!

NOUS CONTACTER

Vous pouvez envoyer des questions, des suggestions, des compliments et les plaintes car il est une question importante pour nous afin que nous puissions continuer à améliorer nos services. Nous votre demande en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous ou en appelant nos numéros de bureau central:

NOUS CONTACTER

Vous pouvez envoyer des questions, des suggestions, des compliments et les plaintes car il est une question importante pour nous afin que nous puissions continuer à améliorer nos services. Nous votre demande en remplissant le formulaire ci-dessous ou en appelant nos numéros de bureau central: